Announcement of the Buma Boy Edgar Prize 2020 winner

The Buma Boy Edgar Prize is awarded each year to an artist who has long demonstrated her or his outstanding creative contribution to vitalizing the Dutch jazz and improvised scene. The 2020 winner will be announced online during the inJazz conference, broadcast live from LantarenVenster.

She or he will win € 12,500, a bronze sculpture by Jan Wolkers and a self-compiled evening concert in BIMHUIS, followed by the winner’s Buma Boy Edgar tour in 2021.

Past winners include saxophonist Tineke Postma (2015), double bass player Wilbert de Joode (2016), pianist, composer and arranger Martin Fondse (2017), pianist, keyboard player and composer Jasper van ’t Hof (2018) and saxophonist and composer Jasper Blom (2019).

The 2020 winner (NL)
Norbert Kögging, chairman of the Buma Boy Edgar Prize 2020 jury and director Jazz Maastricht (NL)

Jet Sol (NL)

Next to being director of Jazz Maastricht, Norbert Kögging is also lecturer ‘Your Art as a Business’ at the Conservatorium Maastricht. He’s driven by amazing jazz projects which connect people regardless their background. Until recently, he was also director at Jazzfest Amsterdam.

You probably know Jet Sol from introducing the showcases during the inJazz festival. The enthusiastic, presenter from Rotterdam will announce the musicians this year as well and will have a talk with the winner of the Buma Boy Edgar Prize 2020. After her PR study, Jet started working for Mojo concerts and Rotterdam-based venues Nighttown and Rotown. In 1996 she started producing and presenting programmes for RTV Rijnmond, followed by programmes for TROS, RTL and Omroep West. Besides making television, Jet is a well-known host and moderator at festivals and events.

The online inJazz conference is English spoken.

For this session, you don’t need to sign up in our online tool. To be part of this exciting final of the online conference, please visit on Friday 26 June at 5:30 pm. The YouTube livestream of the announcement of the Buma Boy Edgar Prize 2020 winner will show on our homepage.

photo: Jasper Blom, inJazz 2019, by Maarten van Haaff